Poached Eggs

I learned to poach an egg today.

This is big, HUGE for me.

I spent at least an hour online this morning (it would have taken me 20 minutes to do this research online in the city, however, internet is just a little bit slower out here) learning the best technique(s). First, I started with fresh, fresh, fresh eggs from the farmer’s market that I picked up yesterday. They are the brown eggs and were/are soooo good!They come from a farm only 20 minutes from where I live – perfect!

So, I brought the water to a boil, added a little salt and vinegar, and then cracked the eggs (one at a time) in a coffee cup. The coffee cup is essential because you want to keep the yolk in perfect tact, as I read. Then, once the water was boiling, I brought it down to a very light simmer – barely boiling – and dropped the egg yolks in. It’s so cool how the egg whites around the yolks immediately take shape. Then, after 3-5 minutes, I spooned the eggs out (with a slotted spoon) and set them on a paper towel to soak out the water.

Before the eggs were poached, I prepared some red leaf lettuce for the salad with tomato, avocado, ‘light’ feta cheese, and my go-to salad dressing – extra virgin olive-oil, red wine vinegar, Kosher salt and grinded pepper. Then, I scooped the eggs, with the slotted spoon, from the paper towel and gently put them on top of the salad. I also sliced up some fresh basil (also from the same farm 20 minutes away) and sprinkled this on top of the eggs and in the salad – with a little more pepper on top of the eggs (for looks only). Once the salad is served and the eggs are sliced, the yolks lightly coat the lettuce and all of the other goodness in the salad.

The combination of all of these fresh ingredients in the middle of the afternoon is unbelievably amazing. Served with a little french bread and fresh lemonade has made this mid-day meal one of my favorites.

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

