Kentucky River and Abraham Lincoln

So, a neat little historical reference that I just uncovered about my farm. In 1847, Abraham Lincoln and his wife Mary Todd Lincoln would have been on a boat that passed right by my backyard!

Abe Lincoln was elected to his first national office in 1846, the U.S. House of Representatives. He was a Whig who was representing Illinois. On his way to Washington, DC in 1847 to assume office, Abraham and his wife, Mary, and their two young sons, decided to take a short detour to Lexington, Kentucky. Mary’s family lived in Lexington and they had never met the young Lincoln boys. So, to get from Springfield, IL to Lexington, KY, the Lincoln’s took a boat from Illinois up the Ohio River and cut East across the Kentucky River to Frankfort. Once they reached Frankfort, they took a stagecoach down to Lexington. Apparently, this took a couple of weeks, hence the reason that the Todd family had not met Abe and Mary’s sons yet.

So, if this is accurate, then Abraham Lincoln would have traveled right past my land, since I back up to the Kentucky River. How cool is that? Here is a picture of what the river looks like now – I wonder what it looked like in 1847?

P.S. How did I find this out? Well, I’ve been listening to a 25-Book-on-CD set biography of Abe Lincoln. I listen to it on my 1 hour drive to/from the farm every so often. I’ve had the set for 6 months and am only on CD #10, so it will be a while before I finish it. It’s great though!

This entry was posted in History. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

